Special opening of the Castello di Urio for a guided tour
3.11.2019 – Special opening of the Castello di Urio for a guided tour.
Special opening of the Castello di Urio for a guided tour of the beautiful lakeside gardens and of the historic interiors. Charming and class for over 200 years. The villa placed between Moltrasio and Carate, is characterized by its terraced terraces, statues and balustrades that adorn the garden.
Built at the behest of Count Porta on the remains of a 16th-century fortification, the villa belonged to important families sauch as Salazar, the Castelbanco and the Melzi d’Eri. Many were the famous guests and it seems that king Vittorio Emanuele and his wife stayed too.
The magnate Richard Ginori then passed in 1947 to the baron Langheim, who with expensive works, tried to soften the forms of the mansion and rearranged the park.
Today the villa is managed by the Association Le Magnolie, which organizes various initiative here; the particular emphasis is given to the activities of a spiritual nature, entrusted to the Prelature of Opus Dei, an intitution of the Catholic Church founded by St. Josemaria Escrivà.
Source: www. lakecomo.is